Unravelling the Mysteries of the Divine: Durga

Unravelling the Mysteries of the Divine: Durga

The Goddess Durga is a major deity in ancient Vedic belief and is the principal incarnation of the divine Mother, the Goddess, also known as Devi or Shakti. A fierce warrior and the epitome of feminine will, the goddess is a force to be reckoned with. Often depicted with 8 to 10 arms, each bearing a special weapon belonging to another Hindu deity, the goddess is dressed in the colour red, and is usually depicted as riding a lion. This depiction is symbolic of her feminine power, will and determination, all of which she has complete and utter power over. A popular sloka dedicated to the Goddess Durga describes her as so:


“Sarva Mangala Mangalye Sive Sarvartha Sadhike

Saranye Trayambike Gauri Narayani Namostute”


This, when translated, reads:


“She, the most auspicious one, bestows her auspiciousness upon the world. She is pure and holy.

The Mother of the three worlds, she protects those who surrender to her. She is Gauri, the three-eyed daughter of the mountain king. We worship her, the divine Mother Durga”


Harnessing the Divine Energies of Durga


At Maha Mala, our goal is not only to provide you with the best of authentic and ethically sourced spiritual jewellery but also to acquaint you with your inner, spiritual self. Read on to learn how meditation and prayer offered to the Goddess Durga can benefit you.


A symbol of all the divine forces in the universe, the goddess is regarded as the root cause of all creation, as well as the forces that sustain all creation, and will one day be its destruction. The Sanskrit translation of the title Durga means ‘the invincible’, or ‘unattainable’.


The destroyer of injustice, sinners, cruelty and sloth, those looking to overcome obstacles and obstructions in their path to success, as well as those looking to find solutions to their problems, should meditate upon the form of the Goddess.


Our 108-bead Durga Japa mala is designed to represent the various facets of the deity’s being through gemstones that denote her divine qualities, allowing the wearer to invoke them within themselves. These include:


  • Garnet for personal Power, creativity and passion
  • Carnelian for courage, vitality and motivation
  • Labradorite for intuition and perseverance
  • Rudraksha for calming tension and giving clarity to the voice.


Browse through our catalogue of prayer beads and gemstone necklaces designed to bring you closer to your spiritual self, and the divine influence.